Social doesn’t break it to you when you have been blocked by someone. But there are plenty of ways to find out if someone has blocked you on Instagram.
Here is what happens when someone you’re following on Instagram decides to block you:
- You cannot view their Instagram account (private or public).
- You won’t be able to view their stories, posts, and pictures.
- Their account won’t come up in the search bar when you type in their username.
- Your message thread (with that person) will disappear. You can go to you DMs (Direct Messages) on Instagram and see if your previous conversations are still available. Although the messages can disappear if someone deactivates their account as well.
There is pretty much nothing you can do about it when someone blocks you Instagram. There can be multiple reasons for this action. An old flame might want to cut all sources of contact. Your content can be irrelevant/insensitive to some people or you might have offended someone in a recent feud.
Whatever the reason, here are three sure-shot ways to find out if someone blocked you on Instagram.
Use The Search Bar
Here is how you can use the search bar to find out if someone blocked you on Instagram.
- Open the Instagram app using your phone.
- Type the username of the person that you want to check upon
- If the account of the said person pops up under the search bar, then that person hasn’t blocked you.
- If the account doesn’t come up then that person has either blocked you or deactivated their account.
How to find out if its one or the other? Where there is a will, there is a way!
Use a Friend’s Phone or a Separate Account
Now, you can either use your friend’s phone for this purpose or make a new Instagram account altogether. You can also use another existing account that you have on Instagram if you’re sure that the said person hasn’t blocked you there as well.
Let’s say you went with using your friend’s phone to search up the account. Just do as you normally use the search bar to search a username. If the account appears under the search bar, then that person hasn’t deactivated their account and surely blocked you out on Instagram.
Checking Mutual Accounts For Likes and Comments
There is a third way to make sure that you have been blocked by someone on Instagram before throwing accusations.
Go through the people you are following and click on a contact that is a mutual friend between you and the person who blocked you.
Go through their posts and see if they left any comments and likes on your mutual contact’s account. You will be able to see the comments but if you click on their profile you will see something like this.
You will see a “No Posts Yet” sign where the IG feed normally appears. This is when you know for sure that the person has blocked you on Instagram.
In case you’re wondering, no, you will not be able to reply to their comments on a mutual friend’s post. The comment usually disappears as soon as you click on it.
What Can You Do?
As we said earlier, there is not much that can be done when someone has blocked you on Instagram. The good part is, that’s okay. You don’t need people in your social space who don’t appreciate your content.
Internet brawls are not a classy way to brand yourself on social media these days. It’s better to disrupt interaction rather than keep butting heads every now and then.
We suggest you do your research and then move on! Focus on people who follow you, engage with you, and appreciate your content on a regular basis. They’re your tribe!